When did hong kong become a part of china?

Great Britain handed Hong-Kong back to Chinese authorities on July 1st, 1997.

---

At midnight on July 1st 1997, the transfer of sovereignty over Hong Kong from the United Kingdom to China occurred.

---

Sovereignty over the Hong Kong was transferred to China in 1997. Hong Kong first became a colony of the British Empire at the end of the First Opium War in 1842.

---

Hong Kong was transferred to China on midnight of July 1, 1997, after 156 years of British rule.

---

Hong Kong was returned to China in 1999