What are daddy long leg spiders?

Cellar spiders: The Pholcidae are a family of araneomorph spiders. The family contains over 1,800 pholcids, including those commonly known as cellar spider, daddy long-legs spider, granddaddy long-legs spider, carpenter spider, daddy long-legger, vibrating spider, long daddy, and skull spider.

---

Although they have the name “spider,” daddy longlegs are technically not spiders at all. They are a type of arachnid that is actually more closely related to scorpions. Unlike true spiders, daddy longlegs only have 2 eyes instead of 8, and they do not have silk glands so they do not produce webs.