What are the components of asphalt?

Varying proportions of the following: 1. Partially hydrogenated polycyclic compounds also known as naphthenes 2. Partly oxidized material consisting of high molecular weight phenols and carboxylic acids (increased in shallow source asphalts from seeps. 3.Alkanes 4. Asphaltenes

---

Asphalt consists of compounds of hydrogen and carbon with minor proportions of nitrogen, sulfur, and oxygen.