How do you cook a tomahawk steak?

Preheat an oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit and have steaks at room temperature. Heat a large, heavy pan on high heat until it is smoking. Salt and pepper the steaks, oil the pan and sear for 3 minutes per side. Then transfer the pan with the steaks to the oven for 15 minutes for medium-rare.