Why was marie antoinette beheaded?

On 21 September 1792, the monarchy was abolished. Her trial began on 14 October 1793, and two days later Marie Antoinette was convicted by the Revolutionary Tribunal of high treason and executed by guillotine on the Place de la Révolution.

---

Marie-Antoinette was 14 years old when she was married to Louis, grandson of France’s King Louis XV as part of an alliance formed with Austria. That alone made her a hated target. As the French Revolution progressed, her callousness towards the people, as well as her title, made her a target.