Why do graveyards have fences?

There are three reasons--it defines the area as a place for the dead; the fence keeps large animals from running amok in the cemetery; and it keeps vandals out.

---

Mostly to preserve a sense of privacy, respect, and sacred ground. One basic reason for thefencing around cemeteries is to literally define the area as a place for the dead.