What's the difference in cake flour and all purpose flour?

Cake flour has a finer texture and more gluten than all purpose flour. This gives cakes a higher lift, a lighter structure, and a softer crumb (the feel in your mouth when you eat it).

---

Cake flour = low protein = less gluten = softest texture = great for vanilla cake and vanilla cupcakes. All-purpose flour = medium protein = moderate gluten = suitable for anything, from chocolate chip cookies to pizza dough.