Why do dogs eat wood?

Dogs are foragers, so the desire to chew wood is instinctual, and they find it enjoyable. Dogs chew wood for a variety of reasons, including teething as puppies, boredom, and a playing activity. Dogs may chew wood because of pica, a condition results in eating inedible objects, from poor nutrition.