Why do they put lime in corona beer?

There are different theories as to why the lime is put there in the first place: It cleans the tip of the bottle, or it kills germs, or it shoos flies, or it masks the taste of skunky beer. But whatever the reason, the first wedge of lime put into a bottle of Mexican beer stuck there, literally.