Are lightning bugs and fireflies the same thing?

The Lampyridae are a family of insects in the beetle order Coleoptera with over 2,000 described species. They are soft-bodied beetles that are commonly called fireflies or lightning bugs for their conspicuous use of bioluminescence during twilight to attract mates or prey. In other words, yes it is.

---

The names are used interchangeably depending on geographical location.