When were hot air balloons invented?

The Chinese invented the first hot air balloons in the mid-14th century. In 17 83, Joseph Montgolfier, his brother, Jacques-Etinenne, & French scientist Pilatre de Rozier invented the modern hot air balloon. It was launched on June 5th 1783, carrying a sheep, a duck and a rooster. It flew 20 min.