What does it mean to press garlic?

It means to crush it into a paste. There are devices called "Garlic presses" to do it, but you can do it by laying the flat side of a broad knife on top of a garlic clove and gently hitting (perhaps with your fist, or a mallet) the knife above the garlic clove to smash it.