How does the earth orbit?

The earth orbits the sun in an ellipse, or oval shape. This is because of the gravity of the sun, which is so much larger than the planets are. Gravity pulls the planets inward, while their own momentum pulls them outward, resulting in an orbit.

---

In an elliptical orbit