Is it bad luck to walk on the ladder?

"Because a ladder had rested against the crucifix, it became a symbol of wickedness, betrayal, and death. Walking under a ladder courted misfortune." In England in the 1600s, criminals were forced to walk under a ladder on their way to the gallows.