How do i care for a basil plant?

Basil can be planted in gardens or grown in a container. The soil should have a neutral pH and drain well, being kept moist but not soggy. Basil grows best in warm environments that receive about six hours of sun each day. If planted outside, basil plants should be about a foot apart.