Is there gold in the grand canyon?

Gold has been found in the grand canyon but because it is a national park, it is off-limits.

---

There is copper & asbestos in the Grand Canyon. A prospector would say, "Yes, there is placer gold along the Colorado but there is too much sand mixed with it to make it worth recovering".