What is the most common vegetable in the world?

Tomatoes, which are scientifically a type of fruit, are the most popular vegetables in the world. Global production of tomatoes equates to around 177 million metric tons every year. If you exclude tomatoes as it is technically a fruit, onions would be the most popular vegetable.