What is a substitute for vanilla in baking?

Flavored extracts After vanilla, one of the most common extracts people use in baking is almond extract. You can replace vanilla extract with almond extract at a 1:1 ratio. That means, replace every 1 tablespoon (15 mL) of vanilla extract in the recipe with 1 tablespoon (15 mL) of almond extract.