How did katy perry become a singer?

Katie Perry got into music when she was just 9 years old. Her elder sister, Angela, was a singer and young Perry found herself practicing so she could be just like her. After showing off her skills to her parents, they enrolled her in vocal lessons so she could follow in Angela's footsteps.