What part of a cow is the t bone?

Both T-bone & Porterhouse come from the short loin of the cow. This area has a T-shaped bone that runs through the middle, which you can see in both cuts of beef. As a result, both steaks look almost identical. T-bones are cut from the front of the short loin, whereas Porterhouse come from the back.