Did lionel richie adopt nicole richie?

Yes, Lionel Richie and his then-wife Brenda Harvey, who had been Nicole's guardians since her infancy, adopted her when she was nine years old. Her birth parents are Peter Michael Escovedo and Karen Moss. (Peter is the brother of Shiela E.)