How do you take care of an orchid flower?

Orchids need ample water but should be allowed to dry out some between waterings. One way to check for watering is by poking your finger about an inch into the soil. If it's dry give it some water otherwise, let it be. Indoor orchid plants also need adequate humidity, about fifty to seventy percent.