What's the history of the marathon?

The legend states, that Pheidippides, a Greek messenger was sent, from the battlefield of Marathon, to Athens to announce, that the Persians had been defeated, in the Battle of Marathon, (in which he had just fought), which took place in August or September, 490 BC.