Who is the only an elected president in u. s. a. history?

Gerald Ford is the only unelected President of the United States. As Vice President, he was sworn into office on August 9, 1974, when Richard Nixon resigned due to the Watergate scandal. Ford had been appointed to Vice President December 6, 1973 by Nixon, to replace Spiro Agnew, who had resigned.