What year did they stop making pennies out of copper?

Up until 1982, they were 95% copper.

---

They haven't. from 1793 to 1837 they were pure copper. 1837 to 1857 they were Bronze 95% copper 5% tin and zinc. From 1857 to 1864 they were 88% copper 12% nickel. From 1864 to 1962 they were bronze again, from 1962 until 1982 they're 95% copper 5% zinc. from '82 to now 97.5% zinc 2.5% copper