What was ketchup invented for?

It was used to mask the taste of rotten meat and was not the ketchup we know today. It usually had a fishy taste but was better than eating rancid meats

---

The sauce was originally produced as a flavour-enhancing ingredient in soups and sauces. It later became a condiment