What's the difference between white kidney beans and great northern beans?

Cannellini beans are larger than great northern beans. They also go by different names, such as white kidney beans -because of their traditional kidney shape, fagioli, fazolia beans, Italian kidney beans, and haricots Blancs. Cannellini beans have a thicker skin and a creamy, smooth texture.