Why don't bees fly in the dark?

They are diurnal, meaning they only fly and pass along pollen during the day. Another reason why they won't be seen flying at night is the temperature. When temperatures drop below 50 F, bees stop flying. They become active again when the temperature reaches at least 60.8 F.