What's a cacao pod?

The fruit of the cacao tree is a football-shaped pod that comes in green, yellow, orange, red, purple or maroon depending on genetics and degree of ripeness. Cacao pods range from eight to 14 inches long and grow directly from the tree’s main branches and trunk, not from a stem like an apple does.