What is a salt water clam?

Clams are filter feeders that are generally found on rock reefs and coral reefs or living on the sand bed near a rock edge. They have a brightly colored mantle and various shaped, hinged shells. If they are under attack, they will use their shells and clap themselves out of harms way.

---

Besides their beauty, clams provide another important benefit to a saltwater aquarium