How do you start the instant pot?

Make sure the instant pot is plugged in. Turn the steam release valve to the sealing position and press the "manual" or "pressure cook" button (depending on which sort of pot you have). Use the + and - buttons to set your time. Within 10 seconds, the pot will display "On" and the cycle will begin.