What is a g. i. soldier?

A popular theory links the term to the early 20th century, when “G.I.” was stamped on military trash cans and buckets. The two-letter abbreviation stood for the material from which these items were made: galvanized iron. ... During the war, GI Joe also became a term for U.S. soldiers.