What does riveted mean?

A rivet is a type of fastener that attaches metal. The rivet is pushed through both holes, is kept in place on one side by the rivet head and is flattened flush on the other side. Although riveted refers to a mechanical application, the concept can be used to describe being engrossed or fixated.