What is the scale of earthquakes?

Earthquakes are rated on two different scales. The most common scale is the Richter Scale, which measures an Earthquake's intensity on a scale of 1 to 10, using the amount that a pen moves in a seismograph. The Mercalli Scale, measures intensity, through actual damage to the ground or structures.