When did people start smoking cigarettes?

Cigarettes appear to have had antecedents in Mexico and Central America around the 9th century in the form of reeds and smoking tubes. By 1830, the cigarette had crossed into France, where it received the name cigarette; In 1880 James A. Bonsack was granted a U.S. patent for a cigarette machine.