How does a person talk?

The voice box, or larynx, is the portion of the respiratory tract containing the vocal cords which produce sound. It is located between the pharynx & the trachea. The larynx, also called the voice box, is a 2" long, tube-shaped organ in the neck. We use the larynx when we breathe, talk, or swallow.