Why do they call chickenpox chickenpox?

The name chickenpox has been around for centuries, and there are a number of theories as to how it got its name. One is that it's from the blisters that are seen with the illness. These red spots were once thought to look like chickpeas.

---

One theory is that it's from the blisters that are seen with the illness. These red spots which are about one fifth of an inch to two fifths of an inch wide were once thought to look like chickpeas also known as garbanzo beans.