Why is the planet mars named mars?

The planed Mars is so named because of its red color in the sky, compared to other planets. To ancients, this represented the god of war, Mars, because of its bloody color. It's name in Greek was Ares, also the god of war.

---

Because it is not named Mercury, Venus or Earth.