What is facebook meta?

Meta, the new name for Facebook Inc., is a reference to the metaverse, something CEO Mark Zuckerberg is obsessed with. But it has some other meanings too — and that can get complicated, or even awkward. In Portuguese and Spanish, it means “goal.”