How do you steam sweet potatoes?

Add water until it reaches 1 inch below the steam basket Put the potatoes in the steamer basket and bring the water to a boil. Once the water is boiling, cover the pot, reduce the heat to medium and allow the potatoes to steam until you can insert a paring knife without resistance about 30 minutes.