How do you calculate jewels?

Gem stones are rated by size, clarity, cut, and color. Unit used to measure size is carats. Clarity is a measure of the lack of flaws in the stone. Color is a measure the intensity of the color. Cut is only used for a stone that has been shaped by a jeweler.