How is red dye made?

The cochineal is a scale insect from which the natural red dye carmine is derived. Today, carmine is primarily used as a colorant in food and in lipstick (E120 or Natural Red 4). Red 40 is a chemical that comes from coal tars, created by mixing various hydrocarbons like benzyne and toluene.