What is gpu scaling?

GPU scaling is a feature which allows many AMD graphics cards to effectively scale the image so that it fits the screen both vertically and horizontally. It is very useful when playing older games with a native 4:3 or 5:4 aspect ratio on a new monitor with a more popular aspect ratio such as 16:9.