How long have lobsters been around?

Human-Sized 'Lobsters' Lived on Earth 480 Million Years Ago. Paleontologists have discovered fossils of a 2-m-long lobster-like animal that lived in the seas of what is now Morocco during the early Ordovician period, about 480 million years ago.