What's the name of the smallest animal in the world?

The smallest animal in the world, interestingly, has one of the longer species names, hoomoo hoomoo newkoo newkoo aapooo aahhh aahhh. The Polynesians, whose ancestors named these animals, usually call them hoomoos.