Can fish see light?

Fish and other aquatic animals live in a different light environment than terrestrial species. Their retinas generally have both rod cells and cone cells (for scotopic and photopic vision), and most species have colour vision. Some fish can see ultraviolet and some are sensitive to polarized light.