What is a water sausage?

The term "water sausage" refers to plants of genus Typha, which are aquatic or semi-aquatic, rhizomatous, herbaceous perennial plants. These plants have a variety of common names: bulrush, reedmace, reed, cattail, punks, cumbungi, cattail, or raupō.