What does it mean when a dog's tail wags?

It depends on the wag and on the dog. Some wags mean the dog is submissive, some mean the dog is happy, some mean the dog is excited and some mean the dog is being aggressive. The entire dog's body language has to be taken into account to know what that tail wag means.