What's a yellow watermelon?

Yellow watermelons were bred to have higher lycopene content once watermelon became more popular, which turned it redder over time. Originating in Africa, this yellowish kind of watermelon is said to have a somewhat sweeter flavor and a thicker rind than its red cousin.

---

Yellow watermelon is said to be sweeter than red watermelon and is gaining in popularity.