How does a three d. printer work?

A 3D printer is operated from a computer. It builds up a 3D model one layer at a time, from the bottom up, by repeatedly printing over the same area. Instead of using ink the printer deposits layers of molten plastic or powder and fuses them together with adhesive or ultraviolet light.